Discovering timeless
trends

A stopover at
Charles de Gaulle Airport

April 20, 2019 | Interview

‘This way!’ – ‘Un café noir, s’il vous plaît.’ Different languages, different cultures. Huge halls under glass roof constructions that allow lots of light to flood the rooms. Rolling walkways that seem endless, with lush green seating areas between them. A very quiet background noise of an aeroplane turbine. A few steps further on, American hip-hop from the jukebox of a cafe takes over the audio backdrop. Then the beat is replaced by Edith Piaf: ‘Sous le ciel de Paris’. Under the sky of Paris. Welcome to Europe’s second-largest passenger airport: Paris Charles de Gaulle.

SURTECO product designer Valentina Dedi is on her way to America and is stopping over at Paris Charles de Gaulle. She is sitting in Terminal 2 at the champagne bar of the first Michelin-starred restaurant in the airport. Time to take stock in a moving and lively location that was built many decades ago but is still bang on-trend.

tags

    Valentina, what is the special design experience that this place offers?

    No matter where you stop in this airport, you feel the impressive, timeless design in the overall formal language and furnishings. Although, here in particular, time plays an important role. Every process, the overall procedure, arrival, departure, it is all about time. And yet the place where all that takes place is so detached from it. This airport was constructed in the 1970s, and yet it seems so modern to us now. There is Terminal 1, which has become legendary because of its futuristic design and Camembert shape. And here at Terminal 2 there are huge open spaces and the exciting glass roof construction, which lets in lots of light. The formal language is simple and clear, with no frills. At the same time, there are pillars and marble elements that provide opulence and class. This mix of minimalism and class can be found today, too. Our mobile, digitised age demands functionality, which requires simplicity. At the same time, a special quality is desired. Charles De Gaulle Airport combines the two.

    story-cdg-img01
    story-cdg-img02
    story-cdg-img03

    The airport was designed by Paul Andreu, a world-famous airport architect. He said: ‘An airport is more than a building. It is a landscape.’

    That is a lovely image that we also work with in our Design department. In other words: we think big, not small. Even if, at the end of the day, a room is designed or a building constructed – the concept must be overarching. In this way, we create openness and expanse in the architecture and, ultimately, in the room. The term ‘landscape’ also wonderfully summarises what is going on here. The urban intertwines with the natural. We can see that here at the airport in the use of lots of green spaces. And in the bars and cafes there is frequently use of dark, exquisite woods, combined with brass. We are all connected to nature and yet we live in urban environments. And in that very urban situation, we want to feel these roots in nature. Paul Andreu was conscious of that back then, as we are now.

    portrait-Valentina-Dedi

    SURTECO Product Designer
    Valentina Dedi

    At SURTECO, responsible for: exhibition concepts, decor development in the caravan sector

    Current favourite trend: the new environmental awareness Most important personal design rule: the design must not be meaningless. It has to offer added value that gives it a reason for existence, regardless of whether that is aesthetic or functional. Always there when on the go: my smartphone, which combines a notebook, calendar, camera and telephone and fits in every bag. There is also an app for everything else.

    Marble is so old, and yet a trend – how can that be?

    We have reinterpreted marble surfaces at SURTECO and offer a wide variety of marble textures: Bernini, Versilia, Sinope Marble. Marble has accompanied us for millennia. Many important sculptures and buildings have been crafted out of marble. That significance is inexorably linked with marble. Today, we live in a world that is so connected and digitised.

    "Not everything that inspires or touches you becomes a trend."

    And there in particular, marble becomes a constant fixture with timeless value. It keeps our feet on the ground. You can observe the same phenomenon here at the airport. It is the best possible use of marble. Everyone who steps off an aeroplane wants to feel truly grounded.

    Do you have to be visionary to recognise trends? What is coming next?

    You need to look and listen carefully and never stop doing so. We are always on the go and take in everything around us. But not everything you are enthusiastic about or touched by will become a trend. That makes it all the nicer when we arrive at a place like Charles De Gaulle Airport and realise that new trend stimuli were actually already there. That creates a timelessness that touches us. Trends are not something we come up with. They are the result of our creative work and desire. When we develop surfaces, we react to that. And thus create material for rooms we would like to live in. Timeless rooms.

    Facts
    Paris Charles-de-Gaulle Airport

    story-cdg-factimage

    Opened:
    Terminal 1 – 8 March 1974
    Terminal 2A/2B – 1982 (continuous expansion up to 2F in 1989)
    Terminal 3 – 1990
    World ranking:
    Second-largest passenger airport in Europe after London Heathrow
    Passenger volume 2018:
    72,229,723
    Number of flights per day:
    800
    Named after:
    Charles de Gaulle, French general and statesman

    urbanamic-icon-white

    Urbanamic
    The city she loves us, and we love her.


    ©2019 SURTECO GROUP          Imprint          General Terms and Conditions          Data Protection

Von der Entdeckung zeitloser Trends

Zwischenstopp am Flughafen
Charles-de-Gaulle

20. April 2019 | Interview

„This way!“ – „Un café noir, s’il vous plaît.“ Verschiedene Sprachen, verschiedene Kulturen. Große Hallen unter Deckenkonstruktionen aus Glas, die viel Licht durch die Räume fluten lassen. Endlos erscheinende Rollbahnen, dazwischen üppig begrünte Sitzmöglichkeiten. Ganz leise im Hintergrund die Turbinen eines Flugzeugs. Ein paar Schritte weiter übernimmt amerikanischer Hip Hop aus den Musikboxen eines Cafés die Gestaltung der Soundkulisse. Dann wird der Beat von Edith Piaf abgelöst: „Sous le ciel de Paris“. Unter dem Himmel von Paris. Willkommen am zweitgrößten Passagierflughafen Europas: Paris-Charles-de-Gaulle.

SURTECO Produktdesignerin Valentia Dedi ist unterwegs nach Amerika und in Paris-Charles-de-Gaulle zwischengelandet. Sie sitzt im Terminal 2 an der Champagnerbar des ersten Michelin Restaurants des Flughafens. Zeit für eine Bestandsaufnahme an einem bewegenden und bewegten Ort, der schon vor vielen Jahrzehnten entstanden und immer noch voll im Trend liegt.

tags

    Valentina, was ist das besondere Designerlebnis an diesem Ort?

    Unabhängig davon, wo man sich an diesem Flughafen aufhält, man spürt bei der gesamten Formsprache und Ausstattung das beeindruckende, zeitlose Design. Obwohl gerade hier der Faktor Zeit eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Jeder Prozess, die gesamte Abwicklung, Ankunft, Abflug, alles dreht sich um Zeit. Und dann ist der Rahmen, wo das stattfindet, so losgelöst davon. Dieser Flughafen wurde in den 70ern erbaut und trotzdem erscheint er uns jetzt so modern. Da gibt es den Terminal 1, der für sein futuristisches Design und die Form des Camembert legendär geworden ist. Und hier am Terminal 2 gibt es die enormen Weiträume und diese spannende Dach-Glaskonstruktion, die viel Licht durchlässt. Die Formsprache ist einfach und klar, kein Schnick-schnack. Gleichzeitig haben wir hier Säulen und Marmor-Elemente, wodurch eine Opulenz und Wertigkeit geschaffen wird. Diesen Mix aus Minimalismus und gleichzeitig hoher Wertigkeit finden wir heute wieder. Unsere mobile, digitalisierte Zeit verlangt Funktionalität, was eine Einfachheit fordert. Gleichzeitig will sie eine besondere Qualität. Beides vereint der Flughafen Charles-de-Gaulle.

    story-cdg-img01
    story-cdg-img02
    story-cdg-img03

    Paul Andreu, ein weltbekannter Flughafen Architekt, hat den Flughafen gebaut. Er sagte: „Ein Flughafen ist mehr als ein Gebäude. Er ist eine Landschaft.“

    Das ist ein sehr schönes Bild, mit dem wir auch bei uns in der Designabteilung arbeiten. Sprich: Wir denken nicht in Grenzen, sondern in Weiten. Auch wenn am Ende des Tages ein Raum gestaltet wird oder da ein Gebäude steht – das Konzept muss darüber hinausgehen. So schaffen wir Offenheit und Weite in der Architektur und letztlich auch im Raum. Außerdem trifft die Bezeichnung „Landschaft“ wunderbar das, was hier noch passiert. Das Urbane verflechtet sich mit der Natur. Das sehen wir auch hier am Flughafen durch den Einsatz von vielen Grünflächen. Und dann findet sich in den Bars und Cafés immer wieder der Einsatz von dunklen, edlen Hölzern wieder, mit Messing kombiniert. Wir sind alle mit der Natur verbunden und doch leben wir urban. Und genau hier im Urbanen wollen wir auch diese Wurzeln der Natur spüren. Das Bewusstsein hatte ein Paul Andreu damals, und das haben wir auch heute.

    portrait-Valentina-Dedi

    SURTECO Produktdesignerin
    Valentina Dedi

    Bei SURTECO verantwortlich für: Exponatik + Ausstellungskonzepte, Dekorentwicklung im Bereich Caravan

    Aktueller Lieblingstrend: das neue Bewusstsein für die Umwelt Wichtigste persönliche Designregel: Das Design darf nicht sinnfrei sein. Es muss einen Mehrwert bieten, der ihm eine Daseinsberechtigung gibt – egal, ob ästhetisch oder funktional. Unterwegs immer mit dabei: Mein Smartphone, es vereint Notizbuch, Kalender, Kamera und Telefon in einem und passt in jede Tasche. Und für alles andere gibt es auch eine App.

    Marmor ist so alt und doch ein Trend, wie kann das sein?

    Wir haben die Marmor-Oberflächen bei SURTECO neu interpretiert und bieten verschiedenste Marmor-Strukturen an: Bernini, Versilis, Sinope Marble. Seit Jahrtausenden begleitet uns Marmor. Es wurden viele bedeutsame Skultpuren und Gebäude aus Marmor geschaffen. Diese Bedeutsamkeit ist unweigerlich mit Marmor verbunden. Heute leben wir in dieser so vernetzten,

    „Nicht alles, was einen begeistert oder berührt, wird auch ein Trend.“

    digitalisierten Welt. Und gerade hier wird Marmor zu einer Konstante, zu einer zeitlosen Wertigkeit. Er erdet uns. Das Gleiche kann man hier am Flughafen beobachten. Es ist der Beste Einsatz überhaupt für Marmor. Wer will nicht richtig ankommen, wenn er aus dem Flieger steigt.

    Muss man Visionär sein, um Trends zu erkennen? Was kommt als nächstes?

    Man muss genau hinschauen und hinhören und darf damit nie aufhören. Wir sind immer unterwegs und saugen alles auf, was uns umgibt. Aber nicht alles, was einen begeistert oder berührt, wird auch ein Trend. Deshalb ist es umso schöner, wenn wir an einem Ort wie dem Charles-de-Gaulle-Flughafen ankommen und feststellen, dass neue Trendimpulse eigentlich schon damals da waren. So entsteht eine Zeitlosigkeit, die uns berührt. Trends sind nichts, was wir uns ausdenken. Es ist das Ergebnis unseres eigenen Schaffens und Verlangens. Wenn wir Oberflächen entwickeln, reagieren wir darauf. Und schaffen so Material für Räume, in denen wir auch leben wollen. Zeitlose Räume.

    Fakten
    Flughafen Paris Charles-de-Gaulle

    story-cdg-factimage

    Eröffnet:
    Terminal 1 – 8. März 1974,
    Terminal 2A/2B – 1982 (kontinuierliche Erweiterung bis zu 2F im Jahr 1989),
    Terminal 3 – 1990
    Weltliche Einordnung:
    zweitgrößter Passagierflughafen Europas nach London-Heathrow
    Passagieraufkommen 2018:
    72.229.723
    Anzahl Flüge am Tag:
    800 Stück
    Namensgeber:
    Charles de Gaulle, französischer General und Staatsmann

    urbanamic-icon-white

    Urbanamic
    The city she loves us, and we love her.


    ©2019 SURTECO GmbH          EN | DE          Impressum          AGBs          Datenschutz